Leadership Model

Five Academic Areas of Leadership Education

The five academic areas of leadership are:
  1. Traditional Leadership – Those skills required of a leader such as public speaking, ethics, manners, social skills, analytical-critical thinking, study skills, negotiation skills, management skills, conflict resolution, effective writing, teamwork, and moral, ethical, and legal decision making.
  2. History – A critical historical examination of the recent relevant history (25-50 years) that allows students to understand how the United States became a world leader.
  3. Environmental Science – The study of environmental issues and concerns emphasizing environmental leadership. We live in a world of limited resources (soil, water, fossil fuels) and it is important to ensure that students understand how environmental leadership affects the world we share today and future generations.
  4. Adolescent Psychology – The study of adolescent development and behaviors. All leaders must first understand themselves as well as understanding others in order to be effective leaders. The study of psychology and human development is the foundation to achieve these goals and allows students to explore and understand who they are and how they develop, as well as gain an understanding of group dynamics.
  5. Comparative Religions and Cultures – The study of five of the world’s major religions and cultures represented by Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, and Judaism is addressed throughout the curriculum. Understanding the world’s major religions and their cultures is critical to increasing understanding, encouraging tolerance, and promoting a broader world view.
2500 Old Westminster Pike
Finksburg, MD 21048-1823