Leadership Model

Five Areas of Academic Leadership

The five academic areas of leadership are:
  1. Traditional Leadership - public speaking, ethics, manners, social skills, study skills, negotiation skills, management skills, conflict resolution, effective writing, teamwork, and moral, ethical, and legal decision making.
  2. History - a critical examination of the recent relevant history (25-50 years) that helps us understand the position of the United States as a world leader.
  3. Environmental Science - leadership emphasis on environmental issues and concerns. We live in a world of limited resources, and it is important to ensure that students understand how environmental leadership affects us and the world we share today and for future generations.
  4. Adolescent Psychology - all leaders must first understand themselves and then understand others to be effective. The study of psychology and human development allows students to explore and understand who they are and how they develop, as well as gain an understanding of group dynamics.
  5. Comparative Religions & Cultures - studied to develop an understanding of the five major religions: Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, and Judaism. Understanding the world's major religions and their cultures are critical to increasing understanding, encouraging tolerance and promoting a broader worldview.

Leadership development education has the following requirements:
  • Provide specific education and training in specific leadership areas and skills.
  • Provide an environment that reinforces the goals of the leadership program.
  • Provide opportunities for students to put their leadership knowledge and skills to the test.
2500 Old Westminster Pike
Finksburg, MD 21048-1823