All-School Faculty and Staff


Dr. Frederick G. Smith
Founder, Chairman of the Board of Trustees, President Emeritus
fsmithg12@aol.com

Lorraine Fulton, Ed.D
President
Ed.D., Curriculum and Instruction – University of Maryland, College Park
M.Ed. – Salisbury State University
M.Ed. – Bowie State University
B.F.A. – Nova Scotia College of Art and Design
lfulton@gerstell.org

Mary Louque
Vice President
Director of Admissions
Certificate K-12 – Educational Leadership- University of Notre Dame, Indiana
M.Ed. – Loyola University of Maryland
B.A. – Loyola University of Maryland
mlouque@gerstell.org

Brian Abbott
Head of Upper School
M.Ed. – Loyola University of Maryland
B.S. – Towson University
babbott@gerstell.org

Beth Hand
Assistant Head of Upper School
M.B.A. – University of North Carolina at Greensboro
B.A. – North Carolina Wesleyan College
bhand@gerstell.org

Carey Wargo
Head of Middle School
M.Ed. – Loyola University of Maryland
B.A. – Loyola University of Maryland
cwargo@gerstell.org

Ben Thompson
Assistant Head of Middle School
M.Ed. – Virginia Commonwealth University
B.S. – Virginia Commonwealth University
bthompson@gerstell.org

Amy Funk
Head of Lower School
B.S. – Towson University
afunk@gerstell.org

Kerry Chagalis
Assistant Head of Lower School
M.Ed. – Towson University
B.A. – Towson University
kchagalis@gerstell.org

Cap Poklemba
Director of Athletics/Physical Education
B.S. – Temple University
cpoklemba@gerstell.org


Administrative Staff

Josh Baldwin
Director of Transportation
jbaldwin@gerstell.org

Amy Martin
Upper School Administrative Assistant
B.S. – Towson University
amartin@gerstell.org

Sue Farley
Dining Coordinator
sfarley@gerstell.org

John Scholz
Director of Facilities
jscholz@gerstell.org

Kathy Seymour
Webmaster & All School Receptionist B.S. - Towson University
kseymour@gerstell.org

Susan Schultheis
Lower School Administrative Assistant
sschultheis@gerstell.org

Larry Gill
Assistant Director of Facilities
lgill@gerstell.org

Debby Troyer
Assistant to the Business Operations Director
dtroyer@gerstell.org

Carol Klauss
Director of Business Operations
cklauss@gerstell.org

Lynda Valedon, R.N.
School Nurse
lvaledon@gerstell.org

Traci Kovalsky
Middle School Administrative Assistant
B.S. - Towson University
tkovalsky@gerstell.org

Dave Wike
Associate Director of Facilities
dwike@gerstell.org

Emily Clark
Director of Development
Alumni Relations
B.S. – University of Arizona
eclark@gerstell.org

Mary Kim Wilkens
Executive Assistant to the President
B.A. – University of Maryland, Baltimore County
mwilkens@gerstell.org

Admissions Department

Mary Louque
Director of Admissions
Vice President
Certificate – University of Notre Dame, Educational Leadership
M.Ed. – Loyola College
B.A. – Loyola College
mlouque@gerstell.org

Mary Ann Zito
Admissions Associate
B.A. – Virginia Intermont College
mzito@gerstell.org

Carmen Lennartsson
Admissions Assistant
B.S. – University of New Orleans
clennartsson@gerstell.org

Athletics Department

Cap Poklemba
Director of Athletics/Physical Education
B.S. – Temple University
cpoklemba@gerstell.org

Roxanne Cannaday
Physical Education
B.S. – Methodist University
rcannaday@gerstell.org

Stephen Hirsch
Physical Education
B.S. – Frostburg State University
shirsch@gerstell.org

Christine Hryzak
Athletic Assistant
M.A. – Notre Dame of Maryland University
B.S. – Loyola University
chryzak@gerstell.org

Jeff Cheevers
Physical Education
M.S. - State University of New York College
B.S. - State University of New York College
jcheevers@gerstell.org

Sean Todd
Physical Education
B.S. – Saint Andrews University
stodd@gerstell.org

Athletic Coaches

Fall Season

Boys Varsity Soccer
Girls Varsity Soccer


Giuliano Celenza
Head Coach
gcelenza@gerstell.org

Matt Trail
Assistant Coach
mtrail@gerstell.org

Val Estes
Assistant Coach
vestes@gerstell.org

Antonio Saltaformaggio
Assistant Coach
asaltaformaggio@gerstell.org

Boys Middle School RED Soccer
Boys Middle School BLUE Soccer

Sean Todd
Head Coach
stodd@gerstell.org

Cameron Casey
Head Coach
ccasey@gerstell.org

Steve Hirsch
Assistant Coach
shirsch@gerstell.org

Girls Middle School RED Soccer
Girls Middle School BLUE Soccer

Cap Poklemba
Head Coach
cpoklemba@gerstell.org

Lindsay Proescher
Assistant Coach
lproescher@gerstell.org

Winter Season

Boys Varsity Basketball
Boys JV Basketball

Ben Thompson
Head Coach
bthompson@gerstell.org

Craig Alexander
Head Coach
calexander1013@yahoo.com

Scott Johnson
Assistant Coach
sjohnson@gerstell.org

Michael Schwartz
Assistant Coach
mschwartz@gerstell.org

Girls Varsity Basketball
Girls JV Basketball

Roxanne Cannaday
Head Coach
rcannaday@gerstell.org

TBD
Head Coach

Beth Hand
Assistant Coach
bhand@gerstell.org

TBD
Assistant Coach

Varsity Wrestling
Middle School Wrestling

TBD
Head Coach

TBD
Head Coach

TBD
Assistant Coach

Mike Sova
Assistant Coach
michaelsova@gerstell.org

Boys Middle School RED Basketball
Boys Middle School BLUE Basketball

Sean Todd
Head Coach
stodd@gerstell.org

Steve Hirsch
Head Coach
shirsch@gerstell.org

Girls Middle School RED Basketball
Girls Middle School BLUE Basketball

Christine Hryzak
Head Coach
chryzak@gerstell.org

Carey Wargo
Head Coach
cwargo@gerstell.org

Alex Simpson
Assistant Coach

Spring Season

Boys Varsity Lacrosse
Girls Varsity Lacrosse

Sean Todd
Head Coach
stodd@gerstell.org

Josh Gochnauer
Head Coach

Butch Hilliard
Assistant Coach
bhilliard@gerstell.org

Christine Borden
Assistant Coach

Scott Johnson
Assistant Coach
sjohnson@gerstell.org

Varsity Baseball
Boys Middle School RED Lacrosse

Cap Poklemba
Head Coach
cpoklemba@gerstell.org

Jeremy Mattoon
Head Coach
jkmattoon4@yahoo.com

Zach Blessing
Assistant Coach

Rogers Hagert
Assistant Coach
rhagert@gerstell.org

Steve Hirsch
Assistant Coach
shirsch@gerstell.org

Boys Middle School BLUE Lacrosse
Girls Middle School RED Lacrosse

TBD
Head Coach

Roxanne Cannaday
Head Coach
rcannaday@gerstell.org

Girls Middle School BLUE Lacrosse

Mrs. Lindsey Proescher
Head Coach

Mrs. Katie Menges, Assistant Coach

College Guidance

Bret Dewhurst
Director of College Guidance
M.B.A. – Champlain College
B.S. – Champlain College
bdewhurst@gerstell.org

Mary Hoskowitz
Assistant to College Guidance
B.A. – Hood College
mhoskowitz@gerstell.org

Facilities Department

John Scholz
Director of Facilities
jscholz@gerstell.org

Dave Wike
Associate Director of Facilities
dwike@gerstell.org

Larry Gill
Assistant Director of Facilities
lgill@gerstell.org

John Weibel
Facilities
jweibel@gerstell.org

Tony Sumo
Facilities
tsumo@gerstell.org

Ronald Markline
Facilities
rmarkline@gerstell.org

Sean Willis
Facilities
swillis@gerstell.org

Jose Ramos
Facilities
jramos@gerstell.org

Josh Baldwin Director of Transportation
jbaldwin@gerstell.org

Dwight Jones
Transportation
djones@gerstell.org

Charles Rahley
Transportation
crahley@gerstell.org

Susan Bergman
Transportation
sbergman@gerstell.org

Technology Department

Reji Samuel
Director of Technology
rsamuel@gerstell.org

Meghan Jothen
Director of Educational Technology
Graduate Certification – Leadership in Instructional Technology- Johns Hopkins School of Education
M.Ed. – Loyola University
B.S. – Towson University
mjothen@gerstell.org

Rachel Smith
Instructional Technology
B.A. – McDaniel College
rsmith@gerstell.org


Lower School Faculty and Staff

Amy Funk
Head of Lower School
B.S. – Towson State University
afunk@gerstell.org

Kerry Chagalis
Assistant Head of Lower School
M.Ed. – Towson University
B.A. – Towson University
kchagalis@gerstell.org

Susan Schultheis
Lower School Administrative Assistant
sschultheis@gerstell.org

Jessica Holthaus
Kindergarten
B.S. – University of Maryland College Park
jholthaus@gerstell.org

Yania Martinez
Lower School Spanish
B.S. – ISP Felix Varela
ymartinez@gerstell.org

Anna Marie Bobart
Second Grade
M.Ed. – Towson University
B.A. – Towson University
abobart@gerstell.org

Katie Menges
Media Specialist
B.A. – St. John's College
kmenges@gerstell.org

Shirley Brockmeyer
First Grade
B.A. – Towson University
sbrockmeyer@gerstell.org

Tracy Mummert
Pre-First
B.S. – Towson University
tmummert@gerstell.org

Paula Dackermann
Kindergarten
Post-Graduate Certificate – The University of Lancaster: St. Martin’s College
B.A. – University of Sunderland/Towson University
pdackermann@gerstell.org

Lindsey Proescher
Fourth Grade
M. Ed. – York College of PA
B.S. – York College of PA
lproescher@gerstell.org

Jenna Daly
Lower School Music
M.M. – University of Maryland
B.M.E. – Westminster Choir College, NJ
B.M. – Westminster Choir College, NJ
jdaly@gerstell.org

Jen Staub
Fourth Grade
B.S. – Towson University
jsherman@gerstell.org

Jo Anna Edwards
Third Grade
B.A. – Fairmont State College
jedwards@gerstell.org

Brenda Smith
Second Grade
B.A. – Towson University
bsmith@gerstell.org

Valerie Estes
Lower School Art
M.Ed. – McDaniel College
B.A. – Western Maryland College
vestes@gerstell.org

Rachel Hirsch
Lower School Technology
B.A. – McDaniel College
rsmith@gerstell.org

Kim Eysaman
Lower School Science
M.Ed. – Towson University
B.S. – University of Pennsylvania
keysaman@gerstell.org

Heather Snider
Lower & Middle School Science
B
.S. – University of Phoenix
hsnider@gerstell.org

Cathy Shockney
Pre-Kindergarten Assistant
B.A. - University of Maryland Baltimore County
cshockney@gerstell.org

Shoshana Weiner
Pre-Kindergarten
M.Ed. – McDaniel College
B.A. – Elon College
sweiner@gerstell.org

Rodgers Hagert
Kindergarten Assistant
M.A. – Western New Mexico University
B.S. – Western New Mexico University
rhagert@gerstell.org

Margaret Welliver
Kindergarten Assistant
B.A. – Wake Forest University
mwelliver@gerstell.org

Rhonda Martinez
Fifth Grade
M.S. - McDaniel College
B.A. – McDaniel College
rmartinez@gerstell.org

Kristi Yetter
Fifth Grade
B.S. – Frostburg State University
kyetter@gerstell.org

Middle School Faculty and Staff

Carey Wargo
Head of Middle School
M.Ed. – Loyola University of Maryland
B.A. – Loyola University of Maryland
cwargo@gerstell.org

Ben Thompson
Assistant Head of Middle School
Leadership Instructor & Head Boy's Varsity Basketball Coach
M.Ed. – Virginia Commonwealth University
B.S. – Virginia Commonwealth University
bthompson@gerstell.org

Traci Kovalsky
Middle School Administrative Assistant B.S. Towson University
tkovalsky@gerstell.org

Julia Carter
Middle & Upper School Music
B.M. – Westminster Choir College
jcarter@gerstell.org

Nan Kaestner
Middle School Theatre Arts
B.A. – Mary Washington College
nkaestner@gerstell.org

Cameron Casey
Middle School Mathematics
B.S. – Graceland University
ccasey@gerstell.org

Katie Menges
Media Specialist
B.A. – St. John's College
kmenges@gerstell.org
Maria Fernandez-Perez
Middle & Upper School Spanish
B.A. – University of Seville, Spain
mfernandez@gerstell.org

Anne Rochfort
Middle School Spanish
M.A.– Institute of Fine Arts, New York University
B.A.– Washington and Lee University
arochfort@gerstell.org

Daniel Gourley

Middle & Upper School Leadership
M.A.– Sam Houston State University

B.A.– Salisbury University
dgourley@gerstell.org

Stephen Olszewski
Chair, History Department
M.A. – Boise State University
M.S.W. – University of Maryland, SSW&CP
B.A./B.S.W. – University of Maryland
solszewski@gerstell.org

Christine Hryzak
Middle School Math
Athletic Assistant
M.A. – Notre Dame of Maryland University
B.S. – Loyola University
chryzak@gerstell.org
Molly Pollasch
Chair, Arts Department
Middle & Upper School Art
M.F.A. – Northern Illinois University
B.A. – University of Wisconsin
mpollasch@gerstell.org

Caryn Joachim
Middle School Mathematics
M.A. – Towson University
B.A. – Towson University
Secondary Mathematics Certificate – University of Maryland
cjoachim@gerstell.org

Antonio Saltaformaggio
Middle & Upper School History
B.S. – Towson University
asaltaformaggio@gerstell.org

Heather Snider
Lower & Middle School Science
B.S. – University of Phoenix
hsnider@gerstell.org

Scott Johnson
Middle School Science
B.S. – Penn State University
sjohnson@gerstell.org

Joanna Stoltz
Middle School English
M.Ed. – University of Maryland
B.A. – Geneva College
jstoltz@gerstell.org

Meghan Jothen
Director of Educational Technology
Graduate Certification-Leadership in Instructional Technology – Johns Hopkins School of Education
M.Ed. – Loyola University
B.S. – Towson University
mjothen@gerstell.org

Sean Todd
Physical Education
 & Middle School Leadership
B.S. – Saint Andrews University
stodd@gerstell.org

Melissa Wender Middle & Upper School English
M.A. – Loyola University
B.A. – Connecticut College
mwender@gerstell.org
Timothy Kabara
Middle School English
M.A. – College of Notre Dame of Maryland
B.S. –Towson University
tkabara@gerstell.org

George Wilkerson
Middle & Upper School Music
M.A. Morgan State University
B.S. West Chester University of Pennsylvania
gwilkerson@gerstell.org



Upper School Faculty and Staff

Brian Abbott

Head of Upper School
M.Ed. – Loyola University
B.S. – Towson State University
babbott@gerstell.org

Beth Hand

Assistant Head of Upper School
M.B.A. – University of North Carolina at Greensboro
B.A. – North Carolina Wesleyan College
bhand@gerstell.org

Amy Martin
Upper School Administrative Assistant
B.S. – Towson University
amartin@gerstell.org

Lorraine Marroulis
Upper School Mathematics
M.Ed. - University of Kansas B.S. - University of Kansas
lmarroulis@gerstell.org

Timothy Kabara
Upper School English
M.A. – College of Notre Dame of Maryland
B.S. – Towson tkabara@gerstell.org

Bret Dewhurst
Director of College Guidance
& Leadership Instructor
M.B.A. – Champlain College
B.S. – Champlain College
bdewhurst@gerstell.org

Heather Lapidario
Chair, Upper School Leadership
M.S. – Loyola College
B.S. – Loyola College
hlapidario@gerstell.org

Deborah Doyle
Chair, Spanish Department
Upper School Spanish
M.A.T. – Georgetown University
B.A. – University of Maryland
B.A. – St. Louis University, Madrid
ddoyle@gerstell.org

Katie Menges
Media Specialist
B.A. – St. John's College
kmenges@gerstell.org

Julia Carter
Middle & Upper School Music
B.M. – Westminster Choir College
jcarter@gerstell.org

Maria Fernandez-Perez
Middle & Upper School Spanish
B.A. – University of Seville, Spain
mfernandez@gerstell.org

Stephen Olszewski
Chair, History Department
M.A. – Boise State University
M.S.W. – University of Maryland, SSW&CP
B.A./B.S.W. – University of Maryland
solszewski@gerstell.org

Daniel Gourley
Middle & Upper School Leadership
M.A.– Sam Houston State University
B.A.– Salisbury University
dgourley@gerstell.org

Molly Pollasch
Chair, Arts Department
Middle & Upper School Art
M.F.A. – Northern Illinois University
B.A. – University of Wisconsin
mpollasch@gerstell.org

David Greenspoon, Ph.D.
Upper School History
Ph.D. – Pennsylvania State University
M.A. – McMaster University
B.A. – University of British Columbia
dgreenspoon@gerstell.org

Diana Ricker
Chair, English Department
Upper School English
M.A. – Towson University
B.A. – Towson University
dricker@gerstell.org



Butch Hilliard
Upper School Mathematics
Upper School Science
M.Eng.– Cornell University
B.S.– Cornell University
bhilliard@gerstell.org

Antonio Saltaformaggio
Middle & Upper School History
B.S. – Towson University
asaltaformaggio@gerstell.org

Meghan Hipple
Upper School Spanish
M.T.T. – Universidad de Alcala, Spain
B.A. – Elmira College
mhipple@gerstell.org

Elaine Shea, Ph.D.
Chair, Science Department
Upper School Science
Ph.D. – Purdue University
B.S. – University of California, Irvine
eshea@gerstell.org

Mary Hoskowitz
College Guidance
B.A. – Hood College
mhoskowitz@gerstell.org

Matthew Trail
Chair, Upper School Mathematics
M.S. – Towson University
B.S. – Towson University
mtrail@gerstell.org

Meghan Jothen
Director of Educational Technology
Graduate Certification – Leadership in Instructional Technology – Johns Hopkins School of Education
M.Ed. – Loyola University
B.S. – Towson University
mjothen@gerstell.org

Sebastian Weeks
Upper School Science
B.A.– American University
sweeks@gerstell.org

Melissa Wender
Middle & Upper School English
M.A. – Loyola University

B.A. – Connecticut College
mwender@gerstell.org

George Wilkerson

Middle & Upper School Music

M.A. Morgan State University
B.S. West Chester University of Pennsylvaniagwilkerson@gerstell.org



Gerstell Academy

2500 Old Westminster Pike | Finksburg, MD 21048 | 410-861-3000 | 1-866-861-3000

"Gerstell Academy is the only leadership school in the area, and our children have benefited greatly by its values-based curriculum."

Leadership permeates all aspects of the curriculum. Students are encouraged to demonstrate their leadership in school, at home, and in the community.

"The admissions process at Gerstell Academy was a wonderfully welcoming experience. From the moment we entered the Robert E. Smith Hall, we knew that Gerstell was where we wanted our child to be."

"The challenging academics at Gerstell Academy taught our daughter to think critically and to be prepared to compete in an increasingly global society. We loved the Spanish fluency requirement."

Physical training encompasses both daily physical education opportunities and competitive athletics.

Gerstell Academy depends on the generous financial support of the entire Gerstell community. Please join us in the effort to make Gerstell greater!

Gerstell Alumni represent everything that is Gerstell. They are the ambassadors of the school that live the mission every day.

Gerstell Academy aspires and endeavors to remain a vibrant contributing member of our local communities.

powered by finalsite