All-School Faculty and Staff


Dr. Frederick G. Smith
Founder, Chairman of the Board of Trustees, President Emeritus
fsmithg12@aol.com

John Polasko
President
M.Ed., Curriculum and Instruction – Loyola University
A.B. – Brown University
jpolasko@gerstell.org

Mary Louque
Vice President
Director of Admissions
Certificate K-12 – Educational Leadership- University of Notre Dame, Indiana
M.Ed. – Loyola University of Maryland
B.A. – Loyola University of Maryland
mlouque@gerstell.org

Brian Abbott
Head of Upper School
M.Ed. – Loyola University of Maryland
B.S. – Towson University
babbott@gerstell.org

Beth Hand
Assistant Head of Upper School
M.B.A. – University of North Carolina at Greensboro
B.A. – North Carolina Wesleyan College
bhand@gerstell.org

Carey Wargo
Head of Middle School
M.Ed. – Loyola University of Maryland
B.A. – Loyola University of Maryland
cwargo@gerstell.org

Ben Thompson
Assistant Head of Middle School
M.Ed. – Virginia Commonwealth University
B.S. – Virginia Commonwealth University
bthompson@gerstell.org

Amy Funk
Head of Lower School
B.S. – Towson University
afunk@gerstell.org

Kerry Chagalis
Assistant Head of Lower School
M.Ed. – Towson University
B.A. – Towson University
kchagalis@gerstell.org

Christine Hryzak
Director of Athletics/Physical Education
M.A. – Notre Dame of Maryland University
B.S. – Loyola University
chryzak@gerstell.org


Administrative Staff

Josh Baldwin
Director of Transportation
jbaldwin@gerstell.org

Amy Martin
Upper School Administrative Assistant
B.S. – Towson University
amartin@gerstell.org

Sue Farley
Dining Coordinator
sfarley@gerstell.org

John Scholz
Director of Facilities
jscholz@gerstell.org

Kathy Seymour
All School Receptionist & Web Assistant B.S. - Towson University
kseymour@gerstell.org

Susan Schultheis
Lower School Administrative Assistant
sschultheis@gerstell.org

Larry Gill
Assistant Director of Facilities
lgill@gerstell.org

Debby Troyer
Assistant to the Business Operations Director
dtroyer@gerstell.org

Carol Klauss
Director of Business Operations
cklauss@gerstell.org

Lynda Valedon, R.N.
School Nurse
lvaledon@gerstell.org

Traci Kovalsky
Middle School Administrative Assistant
B.S. - Towson University
tkovalsky@gerstell.org

Dave Wike
Associate Director of Facilities
dwike@gerstell.org

Emily Clark
Director of Development
Alumni Relations
B.S. – University of Arizona
eclark@gerstell.org

Anna-Marie Bobart
Academic Support Specialist
M.Ed. - Towson University
B.S.- Towson University
abobart@gerstell.org


Mary Kim Wilkens
Executive Assistant to the President
B.A. – University of Maryland, Baltimore County
mwilkens@gerstell.org

Shane Stem
Social Media Director
B.S. - Lancaster Bible College
sstem@gerstell.org




Admissions Department

Mary Louque
Director of Admissions
Vice President
Certificate – University of Notre Dame, Educational Leadership
M.Ed. – Loyola College
B.A. – Loyola College
mlouque@gerstell.org

Mary Ann Zito
Associate Director of Admissions
B.A. – Virginia Intermont College
mzito@gerstell.org

Carmen Lennartsson
Director of Lower School Admissions
B.S. – University of New Orleans
clennartsson@gerstell.org

Athletics Department

Christine Hryzak
Director of Athletics and Physical Education
M.A. – Notre Dame of Maryland University
B.S. – Loyola University
chryzak@gerstell.org

Phil Gilotte
Assistant Director of Athletics/Physical Education
B.S. – Towson University
B.S. – Shepherd College
pgilotte@gerstell.org

Roxanne Cannaday
Physical Education
B.S. – Methodist University
rcannaday@gerstell.org


Cap Poklemba
Physical Education
B.S. - Temple University
cpoklemba@gerstell.org

Giuliano Celenza
Physical Education
B.A. - UMBC
gcelenza@gerstell.org

Jeff Cheevers
Physical Education
M.S. - State University of New York College
B.S - State University of New York College
jcheevers@gerstell.org

Jess Russo
Athletic Trainer
M.S. East Carolina University
B.S. Towson University
jrusso@gerstell.org





Athletic Coaches

Fall Season

Varsity Cross Country

Julia Carter-Truman
Head Coach
jcarter@gerstell.org

Jeff Cheevers
Assistant Coach
jcheevers@gerstell.org

Varsity Boys Soccer
Varsity Girls Soccer

Ashley Murphy
Head Coach
ashleyliverpool11@gmail.com

Giuliano Celenza
Head Coach
gcelenza@gerstell.org

Rob Bordenski
Assistant Coach
rborde1@hotmail.com


JV BOYS SOCCER

Lieutenant Josh Devers
Head Coach
jgd46@georgetown.edu


Val Estes
Assistant Coach
vestes@gerstell.org


JV Girls SocCER

Cap Poklemba
Head Coach
cpoklemba@gerstell.org

Middle School RED Boys Soccer
Middle School BLUE BoysSoccer

Sean Todd
Head Coach
stodd@gerstell.org

Cameron Casey
Head Coach
ccasey@gerstell.org



Middle School RED Girls Soccer
Middle School BLUE Girls Soccer

Antonio Saltaformaggio
Head Coach
asaltaformaggio@gerstell.org

Phil Gilotte
Head Coach
pgilotte@gerstell.org


Middle School Co-ed Cross Country

Dana Miller
Head Coach


Winter Season


Varsity Boys Basketball
JV Boys Basketball

Ben Thompson
Head Coach
bthompson@gerstell.org

Craig Alexander
Head Coach
calexander1013@yahoo.com

Scott Johnson
Assistant Coach
sjohnson@gerstell.org


Paul Smith
Assistant Coach


Michael Schwartz
Assistant Coach
mschwartz@gerstell.org

Varsity Girls Basketball
JV Girls Basketball

Shane Stem
Head Coach
shane.stem@transformuniversity.org




Brian Chesley
Head Coach
brian_chesley91@yahoo.com


Courtney Stevens
Assistant Coach

Ashley Kurdziolek
Assistant Coach


Lindsay Proescher
Assistant Coach
lproescher@gerstell.org



Varsity Wrestling

Patrick Lloyd
Head Coach
plloyd.baltimore@gmail.com

Dennis Frazier
Assistant Coach



Middle School Boys RED Basketball
Middle School Boys BLUE Basketball

Sebastian Weeks
Head Coach
sweeks@gerstell.org

Rox Cannaday
Head Coach
rcannaday@gerstell.org


Middle School Girls RED Basketball
Middle School Girls BLUE Basketball

Sean Todd
Head Coach
stodd@gerstell.org

Dan Gourley
Head Coach
dgourley@gerstell.org


Spring Season


Varsity Boys Lacrosse
Varsity Girls Lacrosse

Sean Todd
Head Coach
stodd@gerstell.org

Josh Gochnauer
Head Coach
joshgochnauer@yahoo.com

Butch Hilliard
Assistant Coach
bhilliard@gerstell.org



Varsity Baseball
Middle School Boys RED Lacrosse

Cap Poklemba
Head Coach
cpoklemba@gerstell.org


Rogers Hagert
Assistant Coach
rhagert@gerstell.org



Middle School Wrestling

Giuliano Celenza
Head Coach
gcelenza@gerstell.org

Scott Johnson
Head Coach
sjohnson@gerstell.org

Sebastian Weeks
Co-coach
sweeks@gerstell.org

Dan Gourley
Co-coach
dgourley@gerstell.org










Middle School Boys BLUE Lacrosse
Middle School Girls RED Lacrosse

TBD
Head Coach

Annie Rochfort
Co-Head Coach
arochfort@gerstell.org

Roxanne Cannaday
Co-Head Coach
rcannaday@gerstell.org


Middle School Girls BLUE Lacrosse

Lindsey Proescher
Co-Head Coach
lproescher@gerstell.org

Katie Menges
Co-Head Coach
kmenges@gerstell.org







College Guidance

Bret Dewhurst
Director of College Guidance
M.B.A. – Champlain College
B.S. – Champlain College
bdewhurst@gerstell.org


Elizabeth Kaminski
Associate Director of College Guidance
M.S. University of the Southwest
M.S. Drexel University
ekaminski@gerstell.org



Mary Hoskowitz
Assistant to College Guidance
B.A. – Hood College
mhoskowitz@gerstell.org

Facilities Department

John Scholz
Director of Facilities
jscholz@gerstell.org

Dave Wike
Associate Director of Facilities
dwike@gerstell.org

Larry Gill
Assistant Director of Facilities
lgill@gerstell.org

Jay Weibel
Facilities
jweibel@gerstell.org

Tony Sumo
Facilities
tsumo@gerstell.org

Ron Markline
Facilities
rmarkline@gerstell.org

Sean Willis
Facilities
swillis@gerstell.org

Jose Ramos
Facilities
jramos@gerstell.org

Josh Baldwin
Director of Transportation
jbaldwin@gerstell.org

Dwight Jones
Transportation
djones@gerstell.org

Charles Rahley
Assistant Director of Transportation
crahley@gerstell.org

Susan Bergman
Transportation
sbergman@gerstell.org


Technology Department

Reji Samuel
Director of Technology
Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer
rsamuel@gerstell.org

Meghan Jothen
Director of Educational Technology
Graduate Certification – Leadership in Instructional Technology- Johns Hopkins School of Education
M.Ed. – Loyola University
B.S. – Towson University
mjothen@gerstell.org

Kathy Krcma
Instructional Technology
M.S. - The Johns Hopkins University
B.S. - Towson University
kkrcma@gerstell.org





Lower School Faculty and Staff

Amy Funk
Head of Lower School
B.S. – Towson State University
afunk@gerstell.org

Kerry Chagalis
Assistant Head of Lower School
M.Ed. – Towson University
B.A. – Towson University
kchagalis@gerstell.org

Susan Schultheis
Lower School Administrative Assistant
sschultheis@gerstell.org

Jessica Holthaus
Kindergarten
B.S. – University of Maryland College Park
jholthaus@gerstell.org


Yania Martinez
Lower School Spanish

B.S. – ISP Felix Varela
ymartinez@gerstell.org

Anna-Marie Bobart
Academic Support Specialist
M.Ed. - Towson University
B.S. - Towson University
abobart@gerstell.org


Katie Menges
Media Specialist
M.S. - McDaniel College
B.A. – St. John's College
kmenges@gerstell.org

Shirley Brockmeyer
First Grade
B.A. – Towson University
sbrockmeyer@gerstell.org

Tracy Mummert
First Grade
B.S. – Towson University
tmummert@gerstell.org

Paula Dackermann
Kindergarten
Post-Graduate Certificate – The University of Lancaster: St. Martin’s College
B.A. – University of Sunderland/Towson University
pdackermann@gerstell.org

Lindsey Proescher
Fourth Grade
M. Ed. – York College of PA
B.S. – York College of PA
lproescher@gerstell.org

Jenna Daly
Chair, Music Department
M.M. – University of Maryland
B.M.E. – Westminster Choir College
B.M. – Westminster Choir College
jdaly@gerstell.org

Jen Staub
Third Grade
B.S. – Towson University
jstaub@gerstell.org

Beth Linsenmeyer
Fourth Grade
M.Ed. - Towson University
B.A. - Loyola University
blinsenmeyer@gerstell.org

Jo Anna Edwards
Third Grade
B.A. – Fairmont State College
jedwards@gerstell.org

Brenda Smith
Second Grade
B.A. – Towson University
bsmith@gerstell.org

Valerie Estes
Lower School Art
M.Ed. – McDaniel College
B.A. – Western Maryland College
vestes@gerstell.org

Kathy Krcma
Lower School Technology
M.S. - The Johns Hopkins University
B.S. - Towson University
kkrcma@gerstell.org

Kim Eysaman
Lower School Science
M.Ed. – Towson University
B.S. – University of Pennsylvania
keysaman@gerstell.org

Heather Snider
Lower & Middle School Science
B
.S. – University of Phoenix
hsnider@gerstell.org

Cathy Shockney
Pre-Kindergarten Assistant
M.A. - Loyola College
B.A. - University of Maryland Baltimore County
cshockney@gerstell.org

Shoshana Weiner
Pre-Kindergarten
M.Ed. – McDaniel College
B.A. – Elon College
sweiner@gerstell.org

Rodgers Hagert
Kindergarten Assistant
M.A. – Western New Mexico University
B.S. – Western New Mexico University
rhagert@gerstell.org

Megan Kush
Kindergarten Assistant
B.A. – Mount St. Mary's University
mkush@gerstell.org

Rhonda Martinez
Fifth Grade
M.S. - McDaniel College
B.A. – McDaniel College
rmartinez@gerstell.org

Kristi Yetter
Fifth Grade
B.S. – Frostburg State University
kyetter@gerstell.org

Middle School Faculty and Staff


Carey Wargo
Head of Middle School
M.Ed. – Loyola University of Maryland
B.A. – Loyola University of Maryland
cwargo@gerstell.org

Ben Thompson
Assistant Head of Middle School
Leadership Instructor & Head Boy's Varsity Basketball Coach
M.Ed. – Virginia Commonwealth University
B.S. – Virginia Commonwealth University
bthompson@gerstell.org

Traci Kovalsky
Middle School Administrative Assistant, B.S. Towson University
tkovalsky@gerstell.org

Julia Carter-Truman
Director of Choral Music for Middle and Upper School
B.M. – Westminster Choir College
jcarter@gerstell.org

Nan Kaestner
Middle School Theatre Arts
B.A. – Mary Washington College
nkaestner@gerstell.org

Cameron Casey
Chair, Mathematics
B.S. – Graceland University
ccasey@gerstell.org

Katie Menges
Media Specialist
M.S. - McDaniel College
B.A. – St. John's College
kmenges@gerstell.org
Rosanna Bartoletti
Middle & Upper School Spanish Instructor
M.A. - UMBC
B.A. - Loras College
rbartoletti@gerstell.org

Anne Rochfort
Middle School Spanish
M.A.– Institute of Fine Arts, New York University
B.A.– Washington and Lee University
arochfort@gerstell.org

Daniel Gourley

Middle & Upper School Leadership
M.A.– Sam Houston State
University

B.A.– Salisbury University
dgourley@gerstell.org

Stephen Olszewski
Chair, History Department
M.A. – Boise State University
M.S.W. – University of Maryland, SSW&CP
B.A./B.S.W. – University of Maryland
solszewski@gerstell.org

Rachel Newman
Middle School Mathematics Instructor
B.S. – Indiana University of Pennsylvania
rnewman@gerstell.org
Molly Pollasch
Chair, Arts Department
Middle & Upper School Art
M.F.A. – Northern Illinois University
B.A. – University of Wisconsin
mpollasch@gerstell.org

Caryn Joachim
Middle School Mathematics
M.A. – Towson University
B.A. – Towson University
Secondary Mathematics Certificate – University of Maryland
cjoachim@gerstell.org

Antonio Saltaformaggio
Middle & Upper School History
B.S. – Towson University
asaltaformaggio@gerstell.org

Heather Snider
Lower & Middle School Science
B.S. – University of Phoenix
hsnider@gerstell.org

Scott Johnson
Middle School Science
B.S. – Penn State University
sjohnson@gerstell.org

Joanna Stoltz
Middle School English
M.Ed. – University of Maryland
B.A. – Geneva College
jstoltz@gerstell.org

Meghan Jothen
Director of Educational Technology
Graduate Certification-Leadership in Instructional Technology – Johns Hopkins School of Education
M.Ed. – Loyola University
B.S. – Towson University
mjothen@gerstell.org

Sean Todd

 Middle School Leadership
B.S. – Saint Andrews University
stodd@gerstell.org

Melissa Wender
Middle & Upper School English
M.A. – Loyola University
B.A. – Connecticut College
mwender@gerstell.org
Timothy Kabara
Middle School English
M.A. – College of Notre Dame of Maryland
B.S. –Towson University
tkabara@gerstell.org


Terri Rinehart
Middle and Upper School History Instructor
B.S. - Towson University
trinehart@gerstell.org


Jessica Thomas
Director of Instrumental Music for Middle and Upper School
B.A. - Whittier College
jthomas@gerstell.org


Anna-Marie Bobart
Academic Support Specialist
M.Ed. - Towson University
B.S.- Towson University
abobart@gerstell.org





Upper School Faculty and Staff



Brian A
bbott
Head of Upper School
M.Ed. – Loyola University
B.S. – Towson State University
babbott@gerstell.org

Beth Hand
Assistant Head of Upper School
M.B.A. – University of North Carolina at Greensboro
B.A. – North Carolina Wesleyan College
bhand@gerstell.org

Amy Martin
Upper School Administrative Assistant
B.S. – Towson University
amartin@gerstell.org

Dane Menges
Upper School Leadership
M.A. - St. John's College
B.A. - Duquesne University
dmenges@gerstell.org

Timothy Kabara
Upper School English
M.A. - College of Notre Dame of Maryland
B.S. – Towson University tkabara@gerstell.org

Bret Dewhurst
Director of College Guidance
& Leadership Instructor
M.B.A. – Champlain College
B.S. – Champlain College
bdewhurst@gerstell.org

Heather Lapidario
Chair, Leadership
M.S. – Loyola College
B.S. – Loyola College
hlapidario@gerstell.org

Deborah Doyle
Chair, Spanish Department
Upper School Spanish
M.A.T. – Georgetown University
B.A. – University of Maryland
B.A. – St. Louis University, Madrid
ddoyle@gerstell.org

Anna-Marie Bobart
Academic Support Specialist
M.Ed. - Towson University
B.S. - Towson University
abobart@gerstell.org

Katie Menges
Media Specialist
M.S. – McDaniel College
B.A. – St. John's College
kmenges@gerstell.org

Julia Carter Truman
Director of Choral Music for Middle & Upper School
B.M. – Westminster Choir College
jcarter@gerstell.org

Rosanna Bartoletti
Middle & Upper School Spanish Instructor
M.A. - UMBC
B.A. Loras College
rbartoletti@gerstell.org


Stephen Olszewski
Chair, History Department
M.A. – Boise State University
M.S.W. – University of Maryland, SSW&CP
B.A./B.S.W. – University of Maryland
solszewski@gerstell.org

Daniel Gourley
Middle & Upper School Leadership
M.A.– Sam Houston State University
B.A.– Salisbury University
dgourley@gerstell.org

Molly Pollasch
Chair, Arts Department
Middle & Upper School Art
M.F.A. – Northern Illinois University
B.A. – University of Wisconsin
mpollasch@gerstell.org

David Greenspoon, Ph.D.
Upper School History
Ph.D. – Pennsylvania State University
M.A. – McMaster University
B.A. – University of British Columbia
dgreenspoon@gerstell.org

Diana Ricker
Chair, English Department
Upper School English
M.A. – Towson University
B.A. – Towson University
dricker@gerstell.org



Butch Hilliard
Upper School Mathematics
Upper School Science
M.Eng.– Cornell University
B.S.– Cornell University
bhilliard@gerstell.org

Antonio Saltaformaggio
Middle & Upper School History
B.S. – Towson University
asaltaformaggio@gerstell.org

Meghan Hipple
Upper School Spanish
M.T.T. – Universidad de Alcala, Spain
B.A. – Elmira College
mhipple@gerstell.org

Elaine Shea, Ph.D.
Chair, Science Department
Upper School Science
Ph.D. – Purdue University
B.S. – University of California, Irvine
eshea@gerstell.org

Mary Hoskowitz
College Guidance
B.A. – Hood College
mhoskowitz@gerstell.org


Meghan Jothen
Director of Educational Technology
Graduate Certification – Leadership in Instructional Technology – Johns Hopkins School of Education
M.Ed. – Loyola University
B.S. – Towson University
mjothen@gerstell.org

Sebastian Weeks
Upper School Science
B.A.– American University
sweeks@gerstell.org

Melissa Wender
Middle & Upper School English
M.A. – Loyola University

B.A. – Connecticut College
mwender@gerstell.org

John Maddrey
Upper School Mathematics
B.A. - McDaniel College
jmaddrey@gerstell.org

Laura Robusto
Upper School Mathematics
B.S. - Virginia Wesleyan College
lrobusto@gerstell.org




Gerstell Academy

2500 Old Westminster Pike | Finksburg, MD 21048 | 410-861-3000 | 1-866-861-3000

"Gerstell Academy is the only leadership school in the area, and our children have benefited greatly by its values-based curriculum."

Leadership permeates all aspects of the curriculum. Students are encouraged to demonstrate their leadership in school, at home, and in the community.

"The admissions process at Gerstell Academy was a wonderfully welcoming experience. From the moment we entered the Robert E. Smith Hall, we knew that Gerstell was where we wanted our child to be."

"The challenging academics at Gerstell Academy taught our daughter to think critically and to be prepared to compete in an increasingly global society. We loved the Spanish fluency requirement."

Physical training encompasses both daily physical education opportunities and competitive athletics.

Gerstell Academy depends on the generous financial support of the entire Gerstell community. Please join us in the effort to make Gerstell greater!

Gerstell Alumni represent everything that is Gerstell. They are the ambassadors of the school that live the mission every day.

Gerstell Academy aspires and endeavors to remain a vibrant contributing member of our local communities.

powered by finalsite